



Media Release Embargoed until Friday May 13 2022

SA educators honoured for excellence in teaching and learning

In a first for Catholic Education South Australia – twelve educators (and a dog) will be recognised at the inaugural Catholic Education Awards ceremony on May 12.

The Awards – which are celebrated as part of Catholic Education Week (May 9 - 152022) - recognise outstanding achievements and contributions by staff and volunteers across South Australia's 103 Catholic schools.

Those honoured in these inaugural awards include:

- A volunteer in his 80s who has given over 20 years of support to students as a tutor and mentor
- **A Principal** who joined a small school with 102 students as a teacher and now, 17 years later, is the Principal of that same school which today has 3 campuses and 1800 students
- **Two teachers from Port Augusta** one in her early career and another with over 20 years experience both recognised for excellence in teaching in their regional community
- A groundsmanager recognised for work above and beyond his role which includes supporting school partnerships with an Aboriginal community and students in India.

Two unique school programs will also be recognised including:

- The Wellbeing Program at St Joseph's Renmark an innovative approach that includes a range of wellbeing initiatives including a therapy dog named "Charlie" and a unique partnership with a local GP.
- An Ecological Program at Tenison Woods College, Mt Gambier a student led initiative that is on track to see the school achieve zero waste by 2025 and zero reliance on the energy grid by 2030.

The nominees are across six award categories including:

- Early Career Teacher (< five years)
- Experienced Teacher (> six years)
- Education Support
- Volunteer Supporter
- Innovative Program
- Leadership/Lifelong Contribution

The event will be hosted by Sacred Heart College from 5.30pm on May 12 2022 and will be attended by Education Minister, Mr Blair Boyer MP.

Spokesperson for the Awards, John Mula says "Every single one of these recipients has gone above and beyond. They are a wonderful example of the unwavering commitment to Catholic education shown by staff and volunteers in our 103 school communities across the State. Our Awardees demonstrate the extraordinary outcomes that can be achieved when people are passionate about teaching and learning.

"At Catholic Education South Australia we really care about our students – we're keen to see every young person in our schools thrive. These awards shine a light on the incredible lengths our staff and volunteers will go to support the learning and wellbeing of our students," says John Mula OAM, Deputy Director, Catholic Education South Australia.

A full list of Awardees follows – detailed profiles of the awardees, interviews and photographs are available on request.

Media contact:

Shannon Short Communications Manager P: 0438 516 523 Corrin Wakely-Young Communications Officer P: 8301 6124 or 0415 510 224

12 Award Recipients:

Embargoed until Friday May 13 2022

Early Career Teacher (Primary)	Ms Aurianne Warley
	Early Years Teacher & Team Leader (Romero), Nazareth Catholic Community Early Childhood Centre, Findon
Early Career Teacher (Secondary)	Ms Alanah Rowe
	Middle Years Curriculum Enrichment Coordinator, Senior Psychology, Religion & Rite Journey Teacher, Caritas College, Port Augusta
Experienced Teacher (Primary)	Mr Leigh O'Shaughnessy
	R-6 Director of Learning & Wellbeing, Caritas College, Port Augusta
Experienced Teacher (Secondary)	Ms Rebecca Footner
	Teacher/HPE Coordinator/Year 12 Coordinator, Mount Carmel College, Rosewater
Volunteer Supporter	Mr Ralph Broughton
	Volunteer Tutor, St Michael's College, Henley Beach
Education Support	Mr Paul Morgan
	Grounds Manager, Sacred Heart College, Somerton Park
Innovative Program	3 recipients
	Wellbeing Program - St Joseph's School, Renmark Mr Don DePalma, Principal, St Joseph's School, Renmark
	Project Recology and SEED Framework - Tenison Woods College, Mount Gambier Mr David Mezinec, Principal Tenison Woods College, Mount Gambier
	Arch D Radio and Podcasting Mr James Meston
Leadership/Lifelong contribution	3 recipients
	Ms Monica Conway
	Dr Paul Rijken (Currently Principal, Cardijn College, Noarlunga Downs)
	Mrs Kylie Johnson (Currently at St Barbara's, Roxby Downs)